The Latest News from ACA

2016 Graduate Student Essay Competitions Winners Announced

Feb 01, 2016
The 2016 ACA Foundation Graduate Student Essay competitions have come to a close and the 30 winning essayists have been identified.

ACA student members were competing for prizes in two essay competitions, the Future School Counselors Essay Competition (sponsored by the Roland and Dorothy Ross Trust) and the Graduate Student Essay Competition (sponsored by Gerald and Marianne Corey and Allen and Mary Bradford Ivey).  Formal recognition of the winning essayists will take place at the National Awards Ceremony on April 2 at the ACA 2016 Conference and Expo (March 31 – April 3) in Montréal, Canada.

Gerald and Marianne Corey and Allen and Mary Bradford Ivey Graduate Student Essay Competition -

Grand Prize Winners:

  • Kelly King (University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
  • Rachel Mickelsen (University of Texas at San Antonio)

Runners-Up (in alphabetical order):

  • Kadie-Ann Caballero-Dennis (North Dakota State University)
  • Tara Carleton (Loyola University Maryland)
  • Patrick Ide (Liberty University)
  • Heather Kramer (Loyola University Maryland)
  • Ketluimar Vallecillo-Samot (Liberty University)

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order):

  • Mehmet Avci (St. Mary’s University)
  • Sarah Davis (Marywood University)
  • Joshua Elliott (Eastern Kentucky University)
  • Gerard Grigsby (Ohio University)
  • Mary Rose Barbour Kaplan (Kutztown University)
  • Andrew Robinson (Boston University School of Medicine)
  • Lisa Sanchez (New Mexico Highlands University)
  • Nena Tahil (University of North Florida)
  • Ashley Tolleson (Georgia State University)
  • Jeff Zapor (Wayne State University)


Roland and Dorothy Ross Trust Graduate Student Essay Competition for Future School Counselors -

Grand Prize Winner: 

  • Robin Lane (University of Texas at Austin)

Runners-Up (in alphabetical order):

  • Alexandra Cooper (Adams State University)
  • Paige Haecker (Loyola University Maryland)
  • Rebecca Hickey (University of Saint Joseph)
  • Margaret Scally (Trinity Washington University)
  • Meg Underwood (Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne)

  • Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order):

    • Kevon Bruce (California University of Pennsylvania)
    • Kimberly Crawford (Central Michigan University)
    • Coleen Holliday (University of Arizona)
    • Jessica Mason (Virginia State University)
    • Kevin O’Sullivan (New Mexico Highlands University)
    • Maureen Raj (Andrews University)
    • Austen Winkler (College of William and Mary)


    Contact Name

    Contact Title

    Contact Email

    Contact Phone

    Related Info

    News by Year

    Join Now

    • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
    • Maximize your Professional Development
    • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
    • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
    • Expand your networking connections
    • More Member Benefits