2015 ACA National Awards Winners Announced

Jan 29, 2015
Each year, the American Counseling Association recognizes and celebrates the achievements of counseling professionals who have distinguished themselves professionally, as well as through service to others.
This year, 31 counseling professionals will be recognized for their contributions in 21 categories (below). Formal recognition of award winners will take place during the National Awards Ceremony at the 2015 ACA Conference & Expo: March 12-15 in Orlando, Florida. 

ACA Best Practices Award
Kara Carnes-Holt

ACA Counselor Educator Advocacy Award
Brandé Flamez

ACA Extended Research Award
David M. Lawson

ACA Fellow Award
Fred Bemak
Devika Dibya Choudhuri
Rita Chi-Ying Chung
Mary Ann Clark
Janet Froeschle Hicks
Richard C. Henriksen, Jr.
Lisa Jackson-Cherry
Glenn Lambie
Nick J. Piazza
Stephen Southern
Cirecie West-Olatunji

ACA Professional Development Award
Richard E. Watts

ACA Research Award
Kelly Wester

ACA State Branch Advocacy Award
Mississippi Counseling Association

Arthur A. Hitchcock Distinguished Professional Service Award
Joshua C. Watson

Carl D. Perkins Government Relations Award
Gail M. Smith

Courtland C. Lee Multicultural Excellence Scholarship Award 
Angelica Tello

David K. Brooks, Jr. Distinguished Mentor Award 
Gerald Juhnke  

Don Dinkmeyer Social Interest Award
James Robert Bitter

Dr. Judy Lewis Counselors for Social Justice Award
Judy Daniels

Garry R. Walz Trailblazer Award
Jane Myers (posthumous)

Gilbert & Kathleen Wrenn Award for a Humanitarian and Caring Person
Janice Miner Holden

Glen E. Hubele National Graduate Student Award  
Ashley J. Blount

Kitty Cole Human Rights Award
Christine Murray

Ralph F. Berdie Memorial Research Award 
Reshelle Marino

Robert Rencken Emerging Professional Leader Award 
Heather Tustison

Samuel T. Gladding Unsung Heroes Award
Robert Schmidt 

Thomas J. Sweeney Award for Visionary Leadership and Advocacy 
Carol Bobby

Please click here for more information on the ACA National Awards.

Select News by Year