2015 Graduate Student Essay Competitions Winners Announced

Jan 21, 2015
The 2015 ACA Foundation Graduate Student Essay competitions have come to a close and the 22 winning essayists are identified below.
ACA student members were competing for prizes in two essay competitions: the Graduate Student Essay Competition (sponsored by Gerald and Marianne Corey and Allen and Mary Bradford Ivey), and the Future School Counselors Essay Competition (sponsored by the Roland and Dorothy Ross Trust).  Formal recognition of the winning essayists will take place at the ACA 2015 Conference & Expo: March 12-15, 2015 in Orlando, Florida. 

Gerald and Marianne Corey and Allen and Mary Bradford Ivey Graduate Student Essay Competition 

Grand Prize Winner: Kellyn Marshall, Walden University

Runners-Up (in alphabetical order):
• Lisa Factor, Lenoir-Rhyne University
• Vanessa Matossian, Grand Canyon University
• Darryl J. Schafer, Missouri State University
• Whitney White, Walden University
• Christopher Woodside, Monmouth Universit

Honorable Mentions (in alphabetical order):
• Karen Elizabeth Cohen, National Louis University
• Prairie Conlon, Liberty University
• Emily Donald, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
• Kelly Helton, Carson-Newman University
• Tavonda Hudson, Mercer University
• Travis R. Moore, Southern Methodist University
• Rebecca Pence, University of Texas at Austin
• Jennifer Schermerhorn, Lenoir-Rhyne University
• Stacy Solsaa, University of South Dakota
• Rebecca Vazquez, Regent University

Roland and Dorothy Ross Trust Graduate Student Essay Competition for Future School Counselors 

Grand Prize Winner: Christine Marie Quilpa, University of Virginia

Runners-Up (in alphabetical order):
• Shea Daniels, Ohio University-Chillicothe
• Natalie Simone Diggs, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
• Kara Hiltz, The College at Brockport, State University of New York
• Aaron Mandel, New Jersey City University
• Matthew Nice, Marywood University

There were no Honorable Mention awards this year.

Select News by Year