ACA Awards Banner

Graduate Student Ethics Awards for Master’s Degree Students


First Place

Oakland University
Team Members:
Emily Clark
Meredith Cairo
Zak Drobek
George Googasian 
(Dr. Ashley Branson)

Second Place

Emory and Henry College
Team Members:
Joshua von Castle
Kelly Hayes
Christopher Thomas
Sydney Cooke
(Dr. Stephanie Rutledge)

Third Place

Grand View University
Team Members:
Allyssa Angle
Andrew VenHuizen
Jacob Dickey
(Dr. Treye Rosenberger)


The American Counseling Association (ACA) Graduate Student Ethics Awards for Master's Degree Students recognize exceptional, demonstrable understanding of the ACA Code of Ethics, the foundation of ethical professional counseling practice.


January 31, 2024 | 11:59pm ET


February 26, 2024


Members of the ACA Ethics Committee


The names of the team members and the names of the institutions of the winning teams will be published in Counseling Today and CT Online.

First Place Award:

  • $100 honorarium and a certificate of recognition for each student team member.
  • Complimentary registration for the 2024 ACA Conference and Expo (April 11-13, 2024 | New Orleans, LA), and recognition during event. Winners will receive further information at the time of award notification. 
  • Essay will be posted online. 

Second Place Award: $75 honorarium and a certificate of recognition for each student team member.

Third Place Award: $50 honorarium and a certificate of recognition for each student team member.

Honorable Mention Award: Certificate of recognition for each student team member.

Sponsor: The American Counseling Association Foundation

Eligibility, Rules and Criteria

  • Each student team member must be currently enrolled in good standing in a master's degree program in counseling or counselor education and must be enrolled for a minimum of three credits during the term when the competition will take place.
  • Each student and faculty member on a team must be a member of the American Counseling Association.

Expand lists below to read detailed criteria for master’s student candidates

  • Teams

  • Students

  • Faculty

  • Rubric Requirements

How to Apply

  • Submit an essay addressing this year's essay prompt, found below.
  • Each team member must provide their American Counseling Association member number at the time of submission. Incomplete submissions will not be accepted.
  • Registering on the American Counseling Association website to generate an ID number does not constitute membership. For information about membership, contact the membership department or call 800-347-6647.
  • By submitting an essay, teams and team members agree to allow their names and essay responses to be posted on CT Online.

Expand list below to read essay prompt for master’s student candidates

  • Essay Prompt

Apply for Award