Midwest Region

The Midwest Region of the American Counseling Association (ACA) is one of the four ACA regions. The other three regions are the North Atlantic Region, the Southern Region, and the Western Region. The Midwest Region serves those ACA members who live and work within the Midwest region of the United States.

There are thirteen states (branches) within the ACA Midwest Region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. ACA members who reside in any of these states automatically belong to the ACA Midwest Region.

2017-2018 Leadership

Midwest Region Chair
Melanie Popiolek
Melanie.popiolek@gmail.com

Midwest Region Chair-Elect
Joyce Marter
Joyce@urbanbalance.com 

Midwest Region Acting Past Chair
Chris Roseman 
christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu 

Midwest Region Governing Council Representative
Michele Kerulis
mkerulis@gmail.com

North Atlantic Region Chair
Berlina Wallace
berlinawallace@yahoo.com 

North Atlantic Region Chair-Elect
Randy Clark
rclarklpc@gmail.com  

North Atlantic Region Past Chair
Brenson Long
brenson77@aol.com 

North Atlantic Region Governing Council Representative
Summer Reiner
sreiner@brockport.edu

Southern Region Chair
Hillary Press
hillarypress@aol.com 

Southern Region Chair-Elect
Naomi Brahim
naomi.brahim@jefferson.kyschools.us 

Southern Region Past Chair
Carolyn Anderson
carolyn.anderson@mscounselor.org 

Southern Region Governing Council Representative
Melanie J. Drake Wallace
mwallace@jsu.edu

Western Region Chair
Becky Rudd
rrudd@ewu.edu  

Western Region Chair-Elect
Jamie Davila
jljdavila@gmail.com 

Western Region Past Chair
Elizabeth Forsyth
elizabeth.forsyth@me.com  

Western Region Governing Council Representative
Diana Pals
dianapals@hotmail.com

Join Now

  • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections
  • More Member Benefits

Latest News

ACA Calls for More School Counselors to Support Children Affected by Gun Trauma

by Marie Huddle | Mar 01, 2018
On Tuesday, Feb. 27, the Executive Committee of the American Counseling Association adopted a resolution supporting and highlighting the role that school counselors play in addressing the anxiety, stress, and trauma students experience after a school shooting. The resolution underscores the vital role that school counselors play in helping students cope with adverse conditions.

ACA calls for all U.S. school systems and districts to implement the recommended ratio of one school counselor to 250 students, in order to adequately meet the mental-health-care needs of students. ACA supports mechanisms for students, parents, teachers, and school personnel to be supported by mental-health-care professionals and stands ready, willing, and able to help craft solutions for the emotional needs of those affected by these terrible violence-related tragedies.

The full resolution can be found here.