Midwest Region

The Midwest Region of the American Counseling Association (ACA) is one of the four ACA regions. The other three regions are the North Atlantic Region, the Southern Region, and the Western Region. The Midwest Region serves those ACA members who live and work within the Midwest region of the United States.

There are thirteen states (branches) within the ACA Midwest Region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. ACA members who reside in any of these states automatically belong to the ACA Midwest Region.

2017-2018 Leadership

Midwest Region Chair
Melanie Popiolek
Melanie.popiolek@gmail.com

Midwest Region Chair-Elect
Joyce Marter
Joyce@urbanbalance.com 

Midwest Region Acting Past Chair
Chris Roseman 
christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu 

Midwest Region Governing Council Representative
Michele Kerulis
mkerulis@gmail.com

North Atlantic Region Chair
Berlina Wallace
berlinawallace@yahoo.com 

North Atlantic Region Chair-Elect
Randy Clark
rclarklpc@gmail.com  

North Atlantic Region Past Chair
Brenson Long
brenson77@aol.com 

North Atlantic Region Governing Council Representative
Summer Reiner
sreiner@brockport.edu

Southern Region Chair
Hillary Press
hillarypress@aol.com 

Southern Region Chair-Elect
Naomi Brahim
naomi.brahim@jefferson.kyschools.us 

Southern Region Past Chair
Carolyn Anderson
carolyn.anderson@mscounselor.org 

Southern Region Governing Council Representative
Melanie J. Drake Wallace
mwallace@jsu.edu

Western Region Chair
Becky Rudd
rrudd@ewu.edu  

Western Region Chair-Elect
Jamie Davila
jljdavila@gmail.com 

Western Region Past Chair
Elizabeth Forsyth
elizabeth.forsyth@me.com  

Western Region Governing Council Representative
Diana Pals
dianapals@hotmail.com

Join Now

  • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections
  • More Member Benefits

Latest News

American Counseling Association Foundation Offers Grants of Up to $500

by Marie Huddle | Oct 19, 2017
The American Counseling Association Foundation is seeking proposals from American Counseling Association members for grants of up to $500 in three areas: Disaster-Relief Efforts, Growing Healthy and Confident Kids, and General Needs.
  • Disaster-Relief Efforts: The Disaster-Relief Grants will assist counselors in disaster-relief efforts addressing natural or other disasters affecting counseling services.
  • Growing Healthy and Confident Kids: The Growing Healthy and Confident Kids Funds Grants will help counselors in work with interventions, initiatives, or outreach efforts directed to children in grades K-5. The counselors’ work must be oriented toward increasing the emotional literacy of children and better equipping them to handle life’s challenges.
  • General Microgrants: These grants are designed to address the needs of professional counselors working in areas not covered by the first two grant programs listed above.

Applicants for American Counseling Association Foundation grants must be an active member of the American Counseling Association (ACA) and currently working as a counselor or enrolled as a graduate student in a counseling program. If a team of applicants submits an application packet, at least one applicant on the team must be an active ACA member upon submission of the application. 

Applications for grant funding must be submitted by completing the online American Counseling Association Foundation Funding Application. All applicants are required to answer the questions included in the online form and to submit a preliminary budget detailing the use of the requested funds. The application process is now open. Completed applications will be reviewed upon submission. 

More information is available here.