Midwest Region

The Midwest Region of the American Counseling Association (ACA) is one of the four ACA regions. The other three regions are the North Atlantic Region, the Southern Region, and the Western Region. The Midwest Region serves those ACA members who live and work within the Midwest region of the United States.

There are thirteen states (branches) within the ACA Midwest Region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. ACA members who reside in any of these states automatically belong to the ACA Midwest Region.

2017-2018 Leadership

Midwest Region Chair
Melanie Popiolek
Melanie.popiolek@gmail.com

Midwest Region Chair-Elect
Joyce Marter
Joyce@urbanbalance.com 

Midwest Region Acting Past Chair
Chris Roseman 
christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu 

Midwest Region Governing Council Representative
Michele Kerulis
mkerulis@gmail.com

North Atlantic Region Chair
Berlina Wallace
berlinawallace@yahoo.com 

North Atlantic Region Chair-Elect
Randy Clark
rclarklpc@gmail.com  

North Atlantic Region Past Chair
Brenson Long
brenson77@aol.com 

North Atlantic Region Governing Council Representative
Summer Reiner
sreiner@brockport.edu

Southern Region Chair
Hillary Press
hillarypress@aol.com 

Southern Region Chair-Elect
Naomi Brahim
naomi.brahim@jefferson.kyschools.us 

Southern Region Past Chair
Carolyn Anderson
carolyn.anderson@mscounselor.org 

Southern Region Governing Council Representative
Melanie J. Drake Wallace
mwallace@jsu.edu

Western Region Chair
Becky Rudd
rrudd@ewu.edu  

Western Region Chair-Elect
Jamie Davila
jljdavila@gmail.com 

Western Region Past Chair
Elizabeth Forsyth
elizabeth.forsyth@me.com  

Western Region Governing Council Representative
Diana Pals
dianapals@hotmail.com

Join Now

  • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections
  • More Member Benefits

Latest News

  • ACA Weighs In on Wording Restrictions at the Centers for Disease Control

    Dec 20, 2017
    According to recent press reports, officials at the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) have been told to not use the terms “diversity,” “transgender,” “evidence-based,” and “science-based,” among others, in the upcoming budget request for 2019. This prompted American Counseling Association Chief Executive Officer Richard Yep to write the Acting Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) about the directive.
    Read More
  • Tax Bill Compromise Under Way

    Dec 15, 2017
    The House and Senate have approved different versions of tax reform and now the conference committee is preparing to release the final compromise version, which both houses must then pass before the measure goes to the President for signature. There has been a strong effort to move these bills through the legislative process in order to put a bill on the President's desk by December 25.
    Read More