Graduate Student Essay Competition Winners

American Counseling Association Foundation/Corey/Ivey

Tomorrow’s Counselors Essay Competition

Grand Prize (Tie)

  • Jessica L. Ryan, University of Wyoming (WY)
  • Lynne Shayko, Kent State University (OH)
  • Daksha Arora, Johns Hopkins University (MD)
  • James Ford, Texas Southern University (TX)
  • Olivia Houston, University of Pennsylvania (PA)
  • Kristen Ras, Concordia University (MO)
Honorable Mention
  • Julles Berky, University of Phoenix (UT)
  • Jamila Cainey, Montreat University (NC)
  • Melissa Burks, University of Houston (TX)
  • Sarah Fitchner, Kean University (NJ)
  • Melissa Kohberger, Centenary University (NJ)
  • Juan Pantoja-Patino, Marquette University (WI)
  • Ariann Rubino, Virginia Tech (VA)
  • Annalisa Smithson, Lehigh University (PA)
  • Peter Stieglmayr, Fordham University (NY)
  • Denise Whetstone, Wake Forest University (NC)

American Counseling Association Foundation/Ross Trust

Future School Counselors Essay Competition 

Grand Prize

  • Jennifer Dwiggins, College of William and Mary (VA)
  • Nadiya Boyce Rosen, University of West Georgia, (GA)
  • Steven Cooper, California State University – Sacramento (CA)
  • Isabella DiBileo, Marywood University (PA)
  • Beatriz Friedmann, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (NC)
  • Kelly Leprohon, Long Island University – Brooklyn (NY)
Honorable Mention
  • Meghan Bradley, Monmouth College (NJ)v
  • Virginia Clemo, College of William and Mary (VA)
  • Rachel Corso, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania (PA)v
  • Joshua Denny, Geneva College (PA)
  • Jayd Eggert, University of Mary (ND)
  • Anastasia Przybyla, Chicago School for Professional Psychology (IL)
  • Adeline Roop, Hood College (MD)
  • Rachel Saunders, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (NC)
  • Phuong Tang, University of San Francisco (CA)
  • Kathryn Towns, Augusta University (GA)
  • Roger Rivers, Loyola Marymount University (CA)

Join Now

Latest News

ACA Calls for More School Counselors to Support Children Affected by Gun Trauma

by User Not Found | Mar 01, 2018
On Tuesday, Feb. 27, the Executive Committee of the American Counseling Association adopted a resolution supporting and highlighting the role that school counselors play in addressing the anxiety, stress, and trauma students experience after a school shooting. The resolution underscores the vital role that school counselors play in helping students cope with adverse conditions.

ACA calls for all U.S. school systems and districts to implement the recommended ratio of one school counselor to 250 students, in order to adequately meet the mental-health-care needs of students. ACA supports mechanisms for students, parents, teachers, and school personnel to be supported by mental-health-care professionals and stands ready, willing, and able to help craft solutions for the emotional needs of those affected by these terrible violence-related tragedies.

The full resolution can be found here.