National Awards

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement Since 1956

Each year, the American Counseling Association recognizes and celebrates achievements of counseling professionals who have distinguished themselves professionally, as well as through service to others.

2016 National Award Winners!

The National Awards will be presented at a ceremony during the ACA 2016 Conference & Expo in Montreal, Canada, on Saturday, April 2nd, 6:00 pm at Le Westin Hotel Montreal, Montreal Ballroom.

2016 National Awards Nomination Packet

The 2017 National Awards Call for Nominations will open September 1, 2016.

If you have any questions about the National Awards, please contact Christie Lum with Leadership Services at or (800) 347-6647, x264.


Click the individual award links below to see listings of past recipients.

Past National Award Recipients

  • 50th Branch Anniversary Award

  • AACD Carl D. Perkins Government Relations Award

  • AACD Distinguished Professional Service Award

  • AACD Extended Research Award

  • AACD Government Relations Awards

  • AACD Local, State Branch, and Regional Award

  • AACD Nancy C. Wimmer Award

  • AACD National Legislative Service Award

  • AACD Ralph F. Berdie Memorial Research Award

  • ACA Best Practices Award

  • ACA Counselor Educator Advocacy Award

  • ACA Extended Research Award

  • ACA Fellow Award

  • ACA Local, State Branch, and Regional Award

  • ACA National Legislative Service Award

  • ACA Presidential Award

  • ACA Professional Development Award

    2011: David Delmonico
    2010: Martin Jencius
    2009: Darren A. Wozny
    2008: Dr. Donna A. Henderson
    2007: Janet Lenz
    2006: Thelma Duffey
    2004: Bradley T. Erford
    2003: William Glasser
    2002: Jeffrey A. Kottler
    2001: Lawrence K. Jones, Derald Wing Sue
    2000: Esther Pincus
    1999: Bea Wehrly
    1998: Lawrence Brammer
    1997: Judith A. Lewis
    1996: Don C. Locke
    1995: Sunny Hansen
    1994: Richard L. Hayes
    1993: Jon Carlson
  • ACA Ralph F. Berdie Memorial Research Award

  • ACA Research Award

  • ACA State Branch Advocacy Award

  • APGA Distinguished Professional Service Award

  • APGA Local, State Branch, and Regional Award

  • APGA National Legislative Service Award

  • APGA Ralph F. Berdie Memorial Research Award

  • Arthur A. Hitchcock Distinguished Professional Service Award

  • Carl D. Perkins Government Relations Award

  • Courtland C. Lee Multicultural Excellence Scholarship Award

  • David K. Brooks Distinguished Mentor Award

  • Don Dinkmeyer Social Interest Award

  • Dr. Judy Lewis Counselors for Social Justice Award

  • Federal Legislative Service Award

  • Garry R. Walz Trailblazer Award

  • Gilbert and Kathleen Wrenn Award for a Humanitarian & Caring Person

  • Glen E. Hubele National Graduate Student Award

  • Kitty Cole Human Rights Award

  • Presidential Mission Award

  • Robert H. Rencken Emerging Professional Leader Award

  • Samuel T. Gladding Unsung Heroes Award

  • Thomas J. Sweeney Award for Visionary Leadership and Advocacy