Page 43 - May 2016
P. 43

2016 ACA National Award Winners
Each year, the American Counseling Association recognizes and celebrates the achievements of counseling professionals who have distinguished themselves professionally and through service to others. This year, 35 counseling professionals and organizations were recognized for their contributions in 21 categories. Formal recognition of the award winners took place at the American Counseling Association-Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association Awards Ceremony on April 2 at the ACA Conference & Expo in Montréal.
ACA Counselor Educator Advocacy Award
Matthew Mims
ACA Extended Research Award
Julia Bryan
ACA Fellow Award
Richard Balkin
Frank Burtnett
S. Kent Butler
Catherine Y. Chang Robert K. Conyne
R. Rocco Cottone
David L. Fenell
Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy A. Michael Hutchins Sylvia A. Marotta-Walters
ACA Professional Development Award
Cynthia Kay Chandler
ACA Research Award
Philip B. Gnilka, Aryn C. Karpinski and Heather J. Smith Fye
ACA State Branch Advocacy Award
Ohio Counseling Association
Arthur A. Hitchcock Distinguished Professional Service Award
A. Dean Porter
Best Practices Award
Practitioner: Garry S. Del Conte Faculty: Jenifer Balch
Faculty: Yung-Wei Dennis Lin
Carl D. Perkins Government Relations Award
Victoria Kress
Courtland C. Lee Multicultural Excellence Scholarship Award
Rafe McCullough
David K. Brooks Jr. Distinguished Mentor Award
Carl J. Sheperis Craig S. Cashwell
Don Dinkmeyer Social Interest Award
Dee C. Ray
Garry R. Walz Trailblazer Award
A. Dean Porter
Gilbert & Kathleen Wrenn Award
for a Humanitarian and Caring Person
Audrey A. Elion
Glen E. Hubele National Graduate Student Award
Michael K. Schmit
Judy Lewis Counselors for Social Justice Award
Loretta J. Bradley
Kitty Cole Human Rights Award
R.J. Davis
Ralph F. Berdie Memorial Research Award
Cynthia Bevly
Robert H. Rencken Emerging Professional Leader Award
Christine Chasek
Samuel T. Gladding Unsung Heroes Award
Earnest Airhia
Thomas J. Sweeney Award for Visionary Leadership and Advocacy
Bradley T. Erford
For more information about the ACA National Awards Program, including listings of past recipients, go to
May 2016 | Counseling Today | 43

   41   42   43   44   45