ACA's Taskforce on Counselor Wellness and Impairment


Special Thanks
The Task Force on Impaired Counselors wishes to express our appreciation to the leadership within ACA who has recognized the importance of valuing wellness for its members. We would also like to thank Beth Stamm, Charles Figley, Laura Pearlman, Karen Saakvitne (and other members of the TSI/CAAP staff) for their pioneering work on impairment and related topics.

The Task Force extends our appreciation to the Counseling Association for Humanistic Education and Development for their commitment to counselor wellness and for sharing their 1996 JHEAD issue on counselor impairment--so that we could make it available to counselors on this site.

Additionally, we thank the ACA members who participated in our 2004 survey on Counselor Impairment and Lynne Venart ( who created this website.

Task Force Members

Paige N. Cummins, Ph.D.
East Central University

Anita Engstrom Jones LCPC, LMFT, MAC
Fifth Judicial District

Paul Hard, LPC, SC, NCC,
Mountain Lakes Behavioral Healthcare

Gerard Lawson, Ph.D. LPC-Chair of Task Force
Virginia Tech

Catherine D. Nugent, M.S., M.S., LCPC
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Diana Quealy-Berge
Boone, NC

Beth Venart, M.Ed., L.P.C.
The Carriage House

Join/Reinstate Your ACA and Division Memberships Today

  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections

Learn More

Join Now!