Midwest Region

The Midwest Region of the American Counseling Association (ACA) is one of the four ACA regions. The other three regions are the North Atlantic Region, the Southern Region, and the Western Region. The Midwest Region serves those ACA members who live and work within the Midwest region of the United States.

There are thirteen states (branches) within the ACA Midwest Region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. ACA members who reside in any of these states automatically belong to the ACA Midwest Region.

2017-2018 Leadership

Midwest Region Chair
Melanie Popiolek
Melanie.popiolek@gmail.com

Midwest Region Chair-Elect
Joyce Marter
Joyce@urbanbalance.com 

Midwest Region Acting Past Chair
Chris Roseman 
christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu 

Midwest Region Governing Council Representative
Michele Kerulis
mkerulis@gmail.com

North Atlantic Region Chair
Berlina Wallace
berlinawallace@yahoo.com 

North Atlantic Region Chair-Elect
Randy Clark
rclarklpc@gmail.com  

North Atlantic Region Past Chair
Brenson Long
brenson77@aol.com 

North Atlantic Region Governing Council Representative
Summer Reiner
sreiner@brockport.edu

Southern Region Chair
Hillary Press
hillarypress@aol.com 

Southern Region Chair-Elect
Naomi Brahim
naomi.brahim@jefferson.kyschools.us 

Southern Region Past Chair
Carolyn Anderson
carolyn.anderson@mscounselor.org 

Southern Region Governing Council Representative
Melanie J. Drake Wallace
mwallace@jsu.edu

Western Region Chair
Becky Rudd
rrudd@ewu.edu  

Western Region Chair-Elect
Jamie Davila
jljdavila@gmail.com 

Western Region Past Chair
Elizabeth Forsyth
elizabeth.forsyth@me.com  

Western Region Governing Council Representative
Diana Pals
dianapals@hotmail.com

Join Now

  • Learn more about your specialty—join a division
  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections
  • More Member Benefits

Latest News

ACA in the News: VA Ignored Requests

by User Not Found | Jun 12, 2014
Art Terrazas, ACA’s director of government affairs, recently spoke with The Daily Caller about the VA crisis.
Once again, he addressed the need for the Department of Veterans Affairs to hire more mental health counselors to reduce wait times. He also spoke about ACA’s efforts to accomplish this goal and being ignored by the VA for years. A recent audit of VA hospitals across the country found that nearly 60,000 former troops are waiting months to see a clinician. Some of these vets are dying while they are waiting. “We can’t get a reason from VA about why they’re not utilizing us,” Terrazas said. “It’s about 18 to 22 veterans we lose a day to suicide. How many of those veterans are waiting for care?”

Read the full article here.